I was curious about this and the discussion that has been going on here, as this would mean the app would be doing the sync as a background task, which didn’t seem likely.
So I set up Netflix as a connection, then I uninstalled the app. Today my data synced from yesterday after the app was uninstalled. So how can the authentication possibly be held on my device if the app no longer exists on my device?
I’ve been hesitant about this from the beginning because Younify is owned by the same parent company that owns PlayOn, the software that breaks streaming service ToS and skirts the law when it comes to copyright.
I think between the people who run it, the testing around the validity of their claims and the discussion here, I’m going to hold off on this until there’s an API or equivalent for tracking watch history. It’s simply not worth running the risk of giving authentication tokens to anyone, let alone a company that seems deceptive about how they are being handled (and by that I do not mean Trakt, I mean Younify).
Personally I feel that associating with Younify is a bad move and will end poorly when inevitably something gets leaked or misused, but ultimately that’s up to you to decide. I think what you are trying to do is great but I think you’re taking a shortcut to get there and in doing so are working with a provider that plays fast and loose with security.