Advice for managing large watchlist

I’ve been using Trakt for a few years and my watchlist has grown to a point it is almost useless. I add and add and add to it and it continues to grow.

When the evening comes and I’m suddenly jazzed to see a comedy, It seems I can’t go to my watchlist and say, “show me all comedies ranked by blah on my subscription services, baby!! I’m ready to laugh!”.

At that point I am sad, quit out of Trakt, and just put on an old re-run of Sanford and Son. sad human noises

The website seems more adept at this than the iOS app and almost can do it, but I see no way to filter by genres in my watchlist. Am I missing something?

How do people manage and make a large watchlist useful? I could maintain a multitude of watchlists (“watch soon”, “comedies”, “might want to watch”, etc.), but that defeats the purpose of what most trait interfaces at the moment focus on, which is efficiently adding straight to the watchlist.

Thanks for any advice or techniques.
Mike

2 Likes

I think it would be great if we could add “personal notes” or something to an item in the watchlist. Then I could remember why I had put it on my list.

7 Likes

I was thinking something like that might be good too.

Tags and tag filtering could be a good companion to traditional lists. One could tag items and then filter on tags like “top-choice”, “weekend” “watch-soon”

I’d be happy with just genre filtering to start with as that seems like a big hole currently.

1 Like

Cinetrak (Android app) lets you filter your watchlist by genre.

You can filter by genre and by your list using the search function.just click on the magnifying glass and select films. then you can set filters

Thanks for your reply. I’m not sure where/what you mean.

Is your comment regarding the trakt web UI?